Jesus has the Best Words

Both of my children have said they will be not voting…essentially voting a “no vote,” in protest;  they dislike both of the two most likely candidates, with different reasons for each of the candidates, but it is not my place to speak for my children.  I am stating it so, here, otherwise I doubt anyone will notice.  I, personally, will be writing in the name of Jesus Christ for the presidency.  Mine is also a vote of protest…but that is not all it is.

I am not calling for the second coming because my work is not done, nor am I ready for my life to be over.  I have cried many times, “Come Lord Jesus; I think it’s time,” but while I do believe this world is in desperate need of its Savior, I need to accomplish more God work to make up for the many, many years of trying to work for myself.

I will not use this vehicle as a pulpit from which to criticize the candidates; I do not know enough about them, honestly, except to know that it is difficult to know what Hillary would do once in office because she shifts around so much in an attempt to be elected.  Donald, on the other hand, claims to have the “best words” and expends a great deal of energy turning one group of people against many other groups.  He seems to be the one who appeals to the people who are angry (although, everyone seems to be angry) about being left out and forgotten.

Jesus, too, represented the people who felt left out and forgotten.  But He was also honest, trustworthy, constant, open, kind, and loving.  He did not turn one against the other (although He did lambast the Sadducees, and rightly so.  He also admitted that to follow Him may mean you would, consequently, need to turn away from the beliefs and ways of your family and friends, in the process.)

I keep repeating myself, but, I’m sorry, Donald, you do not have the “best words,” Jesus does:

“You have heard that it was said, ‘Love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ 44 But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, 45 that you may be children of your Father in heaven. He causes his sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous. 46 If you love those who love you, what reward will you get? Are not even the tax collectors doing that? 47 And if you greet only your own people, what are you doing more than others? Do not even pagans do that?” 48   (This is from the book of Matthew.)

Jesus is not telling us to be ‘politically correct;’ He is stating His commandment; He is giving advice on how to be acceptable to God…how to be children of God.  Jesus came to teach us how to love each other and save our lives in the process.

Thanks be to God and to God be the Glory.

 

(I borrowed the image of the American flag from the internet. Credit goes to YouTube.)

What are Your thoughts?

