Only You

Have you ever gotten* a song stuck in your head?  I do and I don’t even recall hearing it anywhere.  But I learned long ago that if I pay attention to the lyrics, there is usually a very timely message in there.  (My children would say I am just looking for messages wherever I can find them.  I can say this here because they never read my work.)

I have been singing the song,  “Only You” all day long, particularly while I was walking this morning.  Here are the words:

Only You can make all this world seem right
Only You can make the darkness bright
Only You and You alone can thrill me like You do
And fill my heart with love for only You
Only You can make all this change in me
For it’s true, You are my destiny
When You hold my hand I understand the magic that You do
You’re my dream come true, my One and only You
Only You can make this change in me
For it’s true, You are my destiny
When You hold my hand I understand the magic that You do
You’re my dream come true, my One and only You
(caps, mine.)

Okay, I’m not going to get all “Christian Happy,” as my kids would say, but I have noticed, even on videos of the best of the talent shows, many of the singers are singing about God or their relationship with God.  I think that is incredibly wonderful and also Good News.  Now, it is never said on Wikipedia whether or not Buck Ram, who wrote the song, or The Platters, who recorded the song in 1955 (the year I was born), meant anything spiritual by it but I don’t need their permission to find inspiration in it for myself…I don’t think.  They may not have meant Jesus when they sang the song, but I do.

There have been many renditions and covers of that song over the years.  The Platters, with lead vocalist Tony Williams’ distinctive  ‘O-oHHHH-nly you.’ is the best known.  Ringo Starr and John Lennon put an odd twist to it and seem to be singing about Lennon, himself, but God forgives so I will, too.  Those of you who like the old crooners will like Malcolm Vaughan’s version.  Bobby Hatfield of the Righteous Brothers provides another really soft and melodic version.  And, finally, for my son and all other lovers of The Dark Knight, here’s Mark Hamill as the Joker singing to Batman in the video game, Arkham City.

Hey, it’s all good.

My thanks to Wikipedia and YouTube for all of the info and videos.  And to tumblr for the not necessarily appropriate image at the top,

…but remember, only you can prevent forest fires.
* (And, yes, Mrs. Sandford,  I know…’gotten’ is not a word.)

What are Your thoughts?

