Christ’s Embassy – The benefits of Adversity (a clarification)

“We are therefore Christ’s ambassadors, as though God were making his appeal through us. We implore you on Christ’s behalf: Be reconciled to God.”

There are benefits to being desperately in need of God…desperate to the point of not questioning the truth of God…just desperate and dependent.  It is not a bad place to be.  People talk about issues that have affected families down through the generations:  I believe that black people have stronger faith and blind dependence on God because of how horribly they have been treated for many generations.  I don’t envy them their experiences…just their faith.  Not sure that what I have just written wouldn’t get me hit or shot, but I think it is true.

This sounds perverse, but be thankful to God for your adversities.  It has strengthened your faith.

Consider this: If you don’t have a very strong faith or dependence on God, consider helping shoulder someone else’s adversity.  Own it and turn to God for help.

2 thoughts on “Christ’s Embassy – The benefits of Adversity (a clarification)

  1. Kitsy, I find your perspective an interesting one. Thanks for sharing it. Now, regarding, “I believe that black people have stronger faith and blind dependence on God because of how horribly they have been treated for many generations,” a few responses. First, as with all blanket statements, I think, what is posited is true for some and not for others. Still, I’m guessing you mean your words to signify your general sense of things, in this case, what you perceive to be the depth or strength of faith of black folk and why, and, in that, I am grateful for your appreciation. Secondly, I’m not sure what you mean by “blind dependence.” Do you mean an unquestioning reliance on God, come what may? Or do you mean a faith or conviction about the providence of God that accepts whatever comes as God’s will? I, for one, find the former more palatable than the latter. Again, my thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I mean unquestioning reliance on God. I am reminded of two stories: that of Viktor Frankl and his unquestioning faith while in the Nazi prison camp and that of Little Tree, a story by Forrest (Asa Earl) Carter. I am thinking of relating the episode from Little Tree in a post, maybe today, so I won’t take up your time here.

      In the past, I have attempted to solidify my opinion of whether or not what happens in life is God’s will and doing, or whether He makes good out of evil doings. My opinions are still squishy like unset jello. However, I can see wisdom in the playing out of my hard life. And, I believe the “Prodigal Son’s” father knew what he was doing when he gave his impatient, immature son his part of the inheritance…knowing what would happen and that the experience might be necessary to ‘grow his son up.’ My jello still squishes.

      While I cannot except thoughts in my head that God would orchestrate the holocaust, apartheid, or the horrid treatment of African slaves, I must accept that I cannot know the mind of God.

      That’s the best I can do.

      Like

What are Your thoughts?

