God Works in Amazing Ways

 

(There’s that word again, “amazing;”  I must work on my vocabulary)

The local power company has contracted Asplundh to trim and cut back trees and shrubs from under the power lines.  They have good reason to; a few months back, power went out in dozens of areas in the upstate and Georgia due to falling limbs and trees during the typical windy, late winter.

The gentleman I spoke to yesterday said my dogwood would have to be topped out.  Well, you don’t top out dogwoods, so I did some research on where and how to trim a limb from a dogwood, dragged out my metal extension ladder, climbed my dogwood, and began removing the one offending limb with a Japanese hand saw.

Before I even got halfway through, I got dizzy and had to stop.  I put day-glow (Clemson Orange) duct tape around the limb and left a note for the trimmers.

This morning, the foreman, Chris, called me and we discussed the situation.  He’s a very nice young man (we had met a day or two earlier up at the corner and had discussed my bluebird houses, which currently house fledgelings.).

Well, long story short(er), the gentleman I spoke with yesterday had misspoken about topping out my dogwood, and, in fact, I was cutting back more of the limb that I needed to.

Furthermore, had I not felt dizzy and stopped, the limb would have dropped, touching the power line, and with my standing on a metal extension ladder, I would likely have been killed.

Chris pointed this out to me this morning.  Now, I knew all this.  Well, the knowledge exists in my memory banks, anyway.  (Today, they would call it, my ‘cloud.’ ). I have a degree in the stuff.  I know those lines are not insulated.  I know electricity seeks the quickest way to the ground…which at the time was through me.

I firmly believe the Holy Spirit made me dizzy so that I would cease and desist and climb down.

And I find that amazing.

Thank you God and to God be the Glory.

2 thoughts on “God Works in Amazing Ways

What are Your thoughts?

